Header Ads

  • Latest News

    CAF announce entry list for club competitions

    Holders Wydad Casablanca head a list of 10 former winners in the draw for next year's Champions League race, facing a tough struggle in their bid to buck the trend and retain their title.
    Many of the usual suspects return to the fray, including record eight-time winners Al Ahly of Egypt, who were upset in this year's final by the Moroccans.
    African Confederation Cup holders TP Mazembe Englebert of the Democratic Republic of Congo will also be highly fancied along with compatriots AS Vita Club, who won their only title in1973 but were runners-up just three years ago.
    The north African challenge also includes the Algerian duo of Mouloudia Alger (winners in 1976) and Entente Setif (1988, 2014) and the perennial Tunisian contenders Esperance (1994, 2011).
    South Africa's Mamelodi Sundowns, who were 2016 winners and knocked out in this year's quarterfinals by Wydad on penalties, are back for a fourth successive year and there is a return for ASEC Abidjan of the Ivory Coast, whose sole victory in the continent's top club competition came in 1998.
    In all entries have come in from all but nine of the 56 member, and associate members, countries of the Confederation of African Football. The full list was obtained by KweséESPN from CAF on Thursday.
    Missing out are the Cape Verde Islands, Chad, the Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Eritrea, Namibia, Reunion, Sao Tome e Principe, Sierra Leone and Somalia.
    Again, the 12 best ranked countries - in terms of the achievement of their representatives in the two annual African club competitions over the last five years - get to enter two teams.
    The rest receive just one in each of the two competitions.
    It is the first time Zambia have been allowed two in each competition, knocking Cameroon out of the top 12 and cutting their entries in half.
    The Central African Republic, Lesotho, Togo and Uganda are only entering a team in the Champions League while Djibouti are making a rare appearance, but sending police team, Gendarmerie Tnale, to the Confederation Cup.
    As is tradition there is no drawing of lots but rather a tennis-style draw created by CAF's secretariat and signed off by the organisation's inter-clubs competition committee that is largely based on geographical considerations in an effort to keep travel costs down for clubs in the early rounds.
    The committee meets next week in Cairo and once they have approved the draw, it will be released by CAF. A draw in April for the later stages of both competition is conducted in a more conventional format and in public.
    CAF Champions League
    Two entries
    ALGERIA: Entente Setif, Mouloudia Alger
    CONGO: AC Leopards, AS Otoho
    DR CONGO: AS Vita Club, TP Mazembe Englebert
    EGYPT: Al Ahly, Misr Makkassa
    IVORY COAST: ASEC Abidjan, Williamsville AC
    MALI: Stade Malien, Real Bamako
    MOROCCO: DH El Jadidi, Wydad Casablanca (holders)
    NIGERIA: Plateau United, MFM FC
    SOUTH AFRICA: Bidvest Wits
    SUDAN: Al Hilal, Al Merreikh TUNISIA: Esperance, Etoile Sahel
    ZAMBIA: Zesco United, Zanaco
    One entry
    ANGOLA: Primeiro Agosto
    BENIN: To be confirmed by the member association
    BOTSWANA: Township Rollers
    BURKINA FASO: RC Kadiogo
    BURUNDI: Lydia Ludic Burundi Academic
    CAMEROON: To be confirmed by the member association (Eding Sport)
    EQUATORIAL GUINEA: Leones Vegetarianos
    ETHIOPIA: St George
    GABON: CF Mounana
    GAMBIA: Gambia Armed Forces
    GHANA: Aduana Stars
    GUINEA: Horoya
    GUINEA BISSAU: Benfica
    KENYA: Gor Mahia
    LESOTHO: Bantu FC
    LIBYA: Al Tahadi
    MALAWI: Be Forward Wanderers
    MAURITIUS: Pamplemousse SC
    NIGER: AS Fan
    RWANDA: Rayon Sports
    SENEGAL: Generation Foot
    SEYCHELLES: St Louis
    SWAZILAND: Mbabane Swallows
    SOUTH SUDAN: Al Salam
    TANZANIA: Young Africans
    TOGO: AS Port Lome
    UGANDA: Kampala Capital City Authority
    ZIMBABWE: FC Platinum
    African Confederation Cup
    Two entries
    ALGERIA: USM Alger, Chabab Belouizdad
    CONGO: CS La Mancha, CARA Brazzaville
    DR CONGO: DC Motema Pembe, Maniema Union
    EGYPT: Al Masry, Zamalek
    IVORY COAST: AS Tanda, Africa Sports
    MALI: Djoliba, Onze Createurs
    MOROCCO: Raja Casablanca, Renaissance Berkane
    NIGERIA: Enyimba, Akwa United
    SOUTH AFRICA: Cape Town City, SuperSport United
    SUDAN: Al Ahly Shandi, Al Hilal El Obeid
    TUNISIA: US Ben Guerdane, Club Africain
    ZAMBIA: Nkana FC
    One entry
    ANGOLA: Petro Atletico
    ENIN: To be confirmed by the member association
    BOTSWANA: Jwaneng Galaxy
    BURKINA FASO: Etoile Filante
    BURUNDI: Olympic Star
    CAMEROON: To be confirmed by the member association
    DJIBOUTI: Gendarmerie Tnale
    ETHIOPIA: Wolaitta Dicha
    GABON: Mangasport
    GAMBIA: Hawks
    GHANA: Asante Kotoko
    GUINEA: Hafia
    GUINEA BISSAU: FC Canchungo
    KENYA: AFC Leopards
    LIBERIA: Elwa United
    LIBYA: AL Ittihad
    MADAGASCAR: Fosa Juniors
    MALAWI: Masters Security Services
    MAURITANIA: FC Nouadhibou
    MAURITIUS: AS Port Louis 2000
    MOZAMBIQUE: Costa do Sol
    NIGER: Sahel SC
    SENEGAL: Mbour Petite Cote
    SEYCHELLES: Anse Reunion
    SOUTH SUDAN: Al Hilal
    SWAZILAND: Young Buffaloes
    TANZANIA: Simba SC
    ZANZIBAR: Zimamoto
    ZIMBABWE: Harare City

    No comments

    Post Top Ad

    Post Bottom Ad